Ready, set, blog

SONY DSC

What? Like you’ve never done something like this on the beach?

I must admit, I love the start of a new year. No other month has so much hope and wishful thinking going on, or so much untapped potential. Or, maybe that’s just because the Christmas buzz hasn’t worn off. But I digress.

Like many of us, I have high hopes for 2016. However, it brings to mind a few key issues:

  1. I’m closer to age 30 than to when I was 20.
  2. 2006 was ten years ago.
  3. 1996 was 20 years ago (yet I’m still in the mindset that the 90s’ were ten years ago.)
  4. Four more years until we’re living in the 20s’… But I’m not counting on a Charleston resurgence. (Probably for the best.)

 

giphy

An accurate depiction of when a cold sneaks up on you on New Years Eve.

Unsurprisingly, I managed to kick off the year by catching a cold. Where I got it from, I don’t know, but either way it isn’t thrilling. It has, however, got me re-evaluating the healthier eating habits I need to keep the cold-catching to a minimum for the rest of the year.

Anyway, getting back to untapped potential–this is the start of my fourth blog. I’ve written a couple in the past: one through university, another through journalism school, and most recently, one for when I was living in Australia for a few months. I’ve only kept each of them for no more than a few years, because I figured that when I went through a major shift in the direction of things (like journalism school), the chapter of that particular blog has come to a close.

I’m at the start of a new phase in life: the uncharted territory of my late 20s. The part where I’m supposed to have things figured out–and by that, I mean something of a definitive career. (But who does, really? It seems at this stage, it’s different for everyone.) Inwardly, I know it’s supposed to be in writing, because that’s what I do. I’m still trying to figure things out; but I figure I may as well document things in the process.

This is my clean slate. Thanks for reading!

M.

 

Facts of Life GIF from here

 

 

Leave a Reply

