Tweet tweet!

I recently came to the decision that whenever there’s a big televised event, I am to avoid Twitter like the plague. I have a few reasons why:

  1. Looking down at my phone/computer constantly is a complete distraction (I don’t know how anyone does it)
  2. I don’t want to read what everyone else has to say about it until it’s over
  3. Things can turn nasty on a dime
  4. It’s a steady drone of voices that never shut up
  5. The onslaught of tweets can be overwhelming
  6. THE OVER. ANALYZING. I HATE. 

This all comes off of the hype of Fox tv’s live production of Grease; it aired this past Sunday night, and it was a hit. (Take that NBC!) I have to admit, it exceeded my expectations in that it was almost everything a live musical should be… And nothing at all like this.

I watched it uninterrupted (well, almost) and enjoyed the whole performance, free from online influence. And you know what? It is possible to enjoy something without social media! Not that I hadn’t figured it out before, of course.

I’m not exactly a social media piranha (I’m pretty limited in my usage of it, actually) but it wasn’t too long ago that I enjoyed keeping up with the Twitter conversation while some special broadcast was on: I liked reading the funny commentary, or discovering something I may have completely overlooked. Every so often, I would add my opinion, but it was usually lost in the sea of tweets within minutes.

As of late, my feelings have shifted about the whole thing; the fact that everyone has something to say about it started to irk me, and the way things get over-analyzed, whether it’s someone’s particular facial expression, or an awkward thing they did or said–if so, look out, here comes the next big meme!

Frankly, it gets tiring, and it spoils the whole show for me.

I don’t have a problem with Twitter (or do I?); after all, there are some very funny people whose tweets I enjoy reading. However, I kind of wish there was an off button during these kinds of things… Which, there is, if you choose to step away from it, as I did.

When I was watching Grease the other night, it was nice to sit and not think of anything other than the great performances, rather than busy myself with what everyone else is saying about it. I can’t say the same for others, however, whose tweeting can practically be livelihood. (Which is totally fine.)

Lastly, I came across this quotation from scientist Rudy Rucker over the weekend, and it seemed to fit into what I’ve been thinking about lately:

“When I see an old movie, like from the ’40s or ’50s or ’60s, the people look so calm. They don’t have smart phones, they’re not looking at computer screens, they’re taking their time. They’ll sit in a chair and just stare off into space. I think some day we’ll find our way back to that garden of Eden.”

Let’s hope so!

M.

 

Leave a Reply

