This month as of late

200.gif

Watching Buster Keaton is always a good pick me up.

Wow, I don’t know about you but I feel like this month has been really dragging. With all the stuff that’s been happening in the world, both here in North America and farther out, it just feels like one big tragedy after another. And don’t even get me started on the Republican GOP thing this week! (We Canadians may be on the other side of the border, but we know and see all.)

Here’s what’s been happening lately.

Seen:

-Republican Convention stuff. My reaction to everything about it.

-Speaking of which, if you’re looking for a laugh (and let’s face it, who isn’t) Stephen Colbert recently did a Hunger Games-esque spoof on the Convention.

-I saw REO Speed Wagon and Def Leppard live on the weekend! It was a pretty good show, even if  my ear drums suffered the effects the next day. (I can’t fight this feeling anymooorrre…)

paul-mccartney-18586-1168257113

Whether he is 74 or 24, he is an all around fantastic person. He is also one of the few people on this planet that I would ruin my life for and be ok with it.

 

-Guess who else I saw live this week? THE PAUL MCCARTNEY. Ok, I have a few things to say about this: I went with my dad, and this was our second time seeing him perform. He was just as brilliant as the first time back in 2010, and to top off our night, as we were leaving the building, Paul and his band were also leaving in their coach buses, and he was waving to everyone from the front of the bus. We were in actual walking, breathing distance with one another. That was the closest I’ll probably ever get to him, and I was waving like an idiot… But it was a thrilling, magical ten seconds.

Feeling:

Sticky! It’s warm outside. Maybe too warm. I guess you could even say it was hot.

Reading:

Shakespeare, by Bill Bryson. A good read on the life of the late great Bard; considering the fact that he made a ridiculously good name for himself as a playwright in his time, it amazes me how there’s so much we still don’t know about him personally. He’s definitely in the records (half the time), but aside from his written works, there’s nothing really else tangible as to who he was a person–his feelings on matters and people, etc. He’s an actual, literal enigma.

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte. Admittedly, I’m kind of on the fence about it. It’s definitely not like Jane Eyre (not that I was expecting it to be), but there’s a lot of drama suspense involved, and quite a lot darker than JE. I’m not terribly keen on the leading female character Catherine, but maybe you’re not supposed to be? Eh, I’ll see once I reach the end of the novel.

Listening to:

Amarante, Lover’s Song.

Libana, A River of Birds.

One Week gif from here, Paul McCartney image from here

Leave a Reply

