National Book Lovers’ Day

tumblr_n0y65wom121t5of8go1_400

 

Well, thanks for the reminder, Twitter! Without books, the world would be a darker and more miserable place than it (already) is today. Books have the power to uplift, inspire, and drive our imaginations wild. I mention books a fair bit on here, but seeing as it is a special day, I’m going to list off some of my favourite reads, both past and present.

  • Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte. TBH, I thought I wouldn’t like it much, because with previous classic 19th century novels I’d read in uni, I thought it would be dense and incomprehensible. How wrong I was! It was thrilling and romantic, and yet it gave me the boost of independence and endurance I was looking for in Jane’s character.
  • The Book Thief, Markus Zusak. I don’t think enough can be said about this book. It’s beautifully written and painfully sad, and I can’t say much more about it other than… Why????
  • Booky, Bernice Thurman Hunter. I read this when I was twelve, and I must say I loved reading the stories of our main girl Booky, who grew up in Toronto during the depression era. Not only that but she was gawky af, so I found that relatable. (but who isn’t gawky at that age really?)
  • The Babysitters Club, Ann M. Martin. If you grew up in the eighties or nineties, this series was pretty much your bible. It had friendship, drama, mystery, and everything a teen (girl, anyway) could ask for.
  • The Mortal Instruments series, Cassandra Clare. Again, I was rather hesitant about starting it at first, but I found myself engrossed pretty quickly. In short: her books are awesome. Also, it’s not often that something a character says will make me laugh out loud in a book, but Clare has managed to do that. Frequently. (My favourite in the whole series is the last one, City of Heavenly Fire.)
  • The Diviners, book 1, Libba Bray. Ok, this book has all of my favourite elements: 1920s everything, ghosts, mystery, horror, humour, and romance to sweeten the deal. Lots of fun to read, and definitely one of my favourites.
  • I Heard my Mother Call my Name, Nancy Hundall. If I asked my mom for a complete number count of how many times I got her to read this to me before bed as a kid, she’d probably say too many times. I guess I just liked how soothing it was, to listen to the author describe the peaceful atmosphere of the neighbourhood after the sun has gone down. (Plus, the pictures are gorgeous)

If you haven’t already guessed, I’m a complete suck for romantic subplots! But I also enjoy a good mystery/thriller novel.

Now, I ask you this: what is/are your favourite book(s)?

Elizabeth Bennet gif from here (on that note, P&P is actually not one of my favourite reads.)

 

One thought on “National Book Lovers’ Day

Leave a Reply

