Things I will and won’t miss about summer

In case you haven’t noticed, September is here. Which means that autumn is right around the corner… And not a moment too soon! Last summer when I was in Australia, I could only enviously watch the grandeur of the fall season play out through social media.

And another thing that’s coming up around the corner is my birthday! I’m this much closer to 30 than I am to twenty. (But that’s a revelation for another time.) Summer, I love you, I’ll miss you in some ways more than others… but it’s time for us to move forward.

Things I will miss:

  • Stepping outdoors in just shorts and a t-shirt
  • The warmth
  • Wide open windows
  • Swims in the late afternoon
  • Iced coffee with the addition of ice cream
  • Exciting summer-themed outdoor events
  • Cool breezes on a hot day
  • The smell of stuff on the bbq
  • Evening walks
  • Getting the best fruits and veggies of the whole year
  • Visits to the beach
  • The smell of rain on a hot sidewalk (otherwise known as that chemical reaction called petricor)

Things I won’t miss:

  • Incessant heat and humidity
  • Bad hair days
  • UV rays
  • Smearing sun screen all over myself (because, shorts)
  • Listening to loud thumping music from parties down the street
  • Noisy neighbours
  • Running into people early in the morning (especially when I don’t feel like seeing anyone)
  • Smelly garbage
  • Dry grass
  • Being unnecessarily sweaty
Leave a Reply

