Thoughts on a Friday

IMG_0170

Springtime crocuses in the garden

  • Sometimes it’s hard to concentrate.
  • Especially if there is a vast internet landscape before you.
  • I’ve had my computer away from me for the past two days to get its battery replaced and now I’m just drinking everything in.
  • Remember a time before the internet?
  • I do.
  • Vaguely.
  • All that spare time I had as a kid!
  • Filled with reading, barbies, outdoor activities and colouring books.
  • If I were an adult in the 90s, I’d probably be bored to tears.
  • Or so I’d like to think.
  • But I would probably be too busy living a life to be lured by the sirens of the web.
  • Which, as a matter of fact, wasn’t even spectacular back then.
  • No youtube, no netflix, no social media…
  • Dull, dull, dull.
  • According to something I watched recently (online of course), Generation Z (the ones following Millennials) is the first group to not remember a time before the internet.
  • How about that.
  • In a way, they’re kind of lucky.
  • I didn’t even know there was a generation following “The Greatest Generation”.
  • Didn’t even cross my mind, because I just assumed they were lumped in together.
  • But no!
  • From about 1926 onwards to 1945, they were the “Traditionalists,” or the “Silent Generation.”
  • Makes sense, I suppose.
  • My maternal grandma was in that demographic.
  • Even more shocking was that I discovered no one from the Silent Generation has/had ever been elected president.
  • Alright, so the thing I watched recently was American.
  • Can’t say the same thing about Canadian Prime Ministers, however.
  • And I did a quick background check to make sure this was true.
  • Off-hand question: When you pipe in during a conversation (not interrupting), and the other person tells you they weren’t talking to you… Is it rude?
  •  This happened to me the other day. I’d explain the situation, but it’s slightly complex.
  • The alleged person wasn’t very nice about it, either.
  • But I brushed it off.
  • Mostly.
  • I didn’t think I was being rude by chiming in, but maybe it wasn’t an appropriate time.
  • Or maybe they were just grumpy.
  • At times I wish I were more of a chatty/outgoing person, but incidents like this one gives me all the more reason to just not say anything.
  • Forever.
  • Maybe I’m just sensitive.
  • No, I’m definitely sensitive.
  • So I shall leave it at that.
  • I want a chocolate.
  • There’s still Easter candy sitting by me that’s waiting to be devoured.
  • But first, the dogs must be walked.
  • Time to take off.
  • So, here’s this week’s music: take it away, MJ!

Leave a Reply

