30 Day movie challenge: Day 4

Favourite horror movie

Yikes! I wasn’t even sure if I had a particular favourite horror movie, mainly because I find them far too intense to sit through. (Ok, fine, I’m just chicken.) But then I remembered….

Ringu.

WELL, FREAK ME THE SHIT OUT.

 

Back in 2002, when I was a lowly eighth grader, its Americanized counterpart known as The Ring had just arrived in theatres; and it was through the video store (remember that??) that I was introduced to the original Japanese version. Let me tell you, it was terrifyingly perfect in all the right ways. The movie’s plot revolves around a series of deaths that are supposedly caused by a cursed video tape, and a young woman must figure out the mystery behind it to break the curse.

Of course, you can’t go wrong with a hunched over girl dressed in a long white dress and long hair covering her face who climbs out of the tv to claim her victims. Nope, it didn’t give me nightmares at all.

Image from here

Leave a Reply

