Thoughts on a Friday

IMG_0278.JPG
Flowers in the garden.
  • Happy Friday!
  • I’ve spent the better part of this week trying to regain my voice.
  • Not like, in terms of confidence-building (though that would be great), but my actual voice.
  • Because, laryngitis.
  • I’ve had it since Sunday, and it’s only started to sound normal today.
  •  That voice you hear inside your head when you read this is the voice I happen to speak with.
  • Let that sink in.
  • The last time I caught laryngitis I think was in 2009.
  • The time before that was…. Grade 10.
  • Pretty sure I can remember each laryngitis bout I’ve had.
  • But I digress.
  • Last week was a week of kiddies, noisiness, and mess.
  • I think I caught my illness from one of the said-kiddies, aka my niece and nephew.
  • But that’s ok.
  • When they live far away and aren’t able to visit often, I will accept.
  • Sort of.
  • But right now, I’m just enjoying the quiet and cleanliness, while they are off in England with their parents for the next week or so.
  • This week I got my hair done at a curly hair-catered salon.
  • Best decision I ever made.
  • Suddenly, everything just became clearer for me.
  • My hair is no longer a lost cause, now that I know the right techniques to styling it.
  • Simple, so simple.
  • Weekend plans include, work, ballet class and Chinese food.
  • And possibly giving myself a pedicure.
  • But that is usually best left to the professionals.
  • I’ve only had a few professional pedicures in my life, and I’ve always found them strange.
  • Relaxing yes, but strange.
  • Having someone dealing with your feet….
  • Possibly the least appealing (outer) extremities on the body to work with.
  • Poor things.
  • Clearly, I need to get more pedicures.
  • But maybe not if I’m doing pointe work.
  • 😬
  • In that case, time to brush up on my home-pedicures!
  • My final thought of the day is a quote from Marcus Aurelius.
  • “You have power over your mind–not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.”

Leave a Reply

